Daily Prompt:The Name’s the Thing

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-names-the-thing/

Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.
Ok, so when I was younger we got this portable wifi thing (I would call it a toggle). It was magical- you could bring it ANYWHERE and it was the answer to all of our prayers because it was supposedly ‘fast’. Fast it was not but nonetheless it was christened ‘Micheal’. Now I’m Irish and therefore it was the Irish pronunciation of Michael thus becoming the ‘Irish internet toggle thing’. For months and months we would shout up the stairs ‘do you have Micheal?’ or ‘I want Micheal, I need to look something up’. Everyone who came into the house for a visit would give us this look when we would talk about Micheal. At one point a cousin of mine said ‘oh is that the new boyfriend?’ in which I replied with a slight smile ‘no it’s the internet….we called him Micheal’. In the end we had to get rid of Micheal but he will always be in our hearts!
I have an OBSESSION with naming things-balloons at a birthday party, any animal that I put my sights on, just anything really. Most of them get the same name- Bob! It’s just the universal name for me. I have good friends in college,nay, brilliant friends in college who do that too! One day we were sitting in our ‘relaxy’ room in college when they found balloons and proceeded to draw faces on them-dickey bows and everything- and call them Hubert and Bob! I know….EPIC! 
Do not judge people by their ability to call inanimate objects names just because you can’t do it doesn’t mean it’s stupid!
P.S Usually the coolest people do it…..so become their friends ya know you want too!
Leave a Reply

