August Blues

Daily Prompt- As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?

As a child I was a nerd. Yes I can admit that now! The excitement I had when I got my new schoolbooks, uniforms and pencil cases. At one point I had a wheelie bag which in those times was the thing to have! You could here me wheeling this wee bag around the house for at least two weeks before school started. I used to and still love the smell of new books, the crisp edges of the pages and all the knowledge they offer. You can imagine how excited I was and of course like most children are the novelty wore off pretty quickly! I was a fairly anxious child. I worried about if I would get on with the teacher or if my friends would still be my friends after the long summer months. Also the homework- oh the lovely homework! 

Secondary school was a different ballgame. I for one was very much aware of the difficult transition that took place between national and secondary school. People decided who they wanted to continue being friends with and new friends were formed. This frightened me.I was never good at making friends. Let’s just say first year wasn’t fun. Neither was second. Finally in third year I found my niche and then going back to school after the summer became easier! Although once the summer before the final year came to an end I became incredibly anxious. I knew what I was getting myself into- it was an important year and I had many hours of study ahead of me. 

College didn’t change my attitude towards the end if summer. I first did one course staying at home and that wasn’t simple either. Not really but it was a link. I lived at home and I worked harder than ever before. I got the grades and finally moved away from home. It was different to any other feeling I had ever felt before. Dread. A fear of the unknown. That summer was fabulous and frightening and exciting all at the same time. I’m now going into my second year of college and I still love the smell of books, getting my new schoolbag and relish in the excitement of learning something new. That part hasn’t changed at all.

 

Leave a Reply

