A bit of a crier

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/moved-to-tears-2/

Daily Prompt: Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry? Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

The simple answer is yes! For me a movie or song or even a painting is associated with a different time in my life. A song by Snow Patrol- Chasing Cars is a song that can bring me to tears in the matter of seconds. It reminds of my mother. She passed away four years ago and I still miss her. Anyway it perfectly explains the feelings I felt when she was sick. 

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me
And just forget the world?

She was in a bed for the last few weeks of her life. I used lay beside her and we used to talk about anything and everything but what was happening. We were trying to forget that time was passing and that the outside world was getting on with their everyday life. 

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden
That’s bursting into life

A ‘dipped’ garden was being constructed when she was sick. She never got to see it finished before her passing. We dedicated the garden to her. It is now the place where we sit and talk to her. It’s a very personal place for me. If I’m upset or sad I sit out there. I get peace by just listening to the trickle of the waterfall (one of the features of said garden). She’s there. That verse makes me feel that she is the life in that garden ‘bursting into life’.

I have been forced to delete all traces of this song- from my phone, computer and i-pod. It has the ability to make me cry on the spot.

One thought on “A bit of a crier

Leave a Reply

