No sisterly love

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/delayed-contact/

Daily Prompt- How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

I was speaking to my sister last night on the phone and I read out this daily prompt. We both starting laughing and agreed that we would definitely not be able to get on if we met for the first time today.

There are three years between my sister and myself. My sister is very energetic and intelligent. She loves long debates about space and time and doesn’t believe in the concept of global warming. She can be very childish and stubborn. She is the type of person that you could only handle in small doses. She comes out with the weirdest things and expects people to understand what she is saying! She is obsessed with her weight and constantly complains about her work. Although she can be annoying, her energy and enthusiasm is infectious. On a night out she is one of those people that one would be glad to be near. She is very funny and she’s not afraid to go a bit mad. She is incredibly trustworthy and kind. On the flip side she can lose her temper at any time which is very frightening! I love her so much but despite this we would not be able to be friends!

When I was younger there was a big difference between herself and myself. You know there is a big difference between 10 and 13. Teenager and child. Boy-obsessed and barbie obsessed. She was impossible to understand. As we became older though the age gap began to lessen. We became even closer after our mother passed away. We may not have dealt or be dealing with it in the same way but we understood each other. I found that we became very alike after that!

So today if we were to meet she would not be my favorite person! I am quite and shy. I am not social butterfly and find it very hard to be myself in front of people, especially ones that would be as straight-forward as my sister! I can be so shy and awkward at times that people think I’m stuck up! My sister defiantly wouldn’t like me! I’m stubborn and somewhat uncompromising in my behavior so I think we would be at loggerheads! In personality we wouldn’t be friends but I would like to think our interests and dislikes would build a connection. We are both obsessed with music and books. We like the strangest of music which people would call ‘alternative’. I like a good who-done-it book and she likes them too! Our dislikes are similar. We hate liars, fakers, backstabbers and wannabes, but I don’t think anyone likes them! Then I look at the other side, upon meeting would we believe that the other was a faker? This is the part that interests me. What would the first impression be?

I love my sister. I wouldn’t change her for the world and I am glad we are close now. I honestly don’t know what I would do without her(don’t tell her that!). She is always the first person I call if something strange, weird or wonderful happens to me and vice versa. Purely for this daily prompt I will own up and say that if we met for the first time today there would be nothing close to sisterly love between us!

Leave a Reply

