Ignorance is bliss

As a child I had all these great dreams of where I would go and what I would do. I was very fortunate to have the opportunity to travel as much as I did as a child. If you traveled then you know the sort of obsession that develops. You have to see more. You have to see every nook and cranny of every village, town, city and country. No stone can be left unturned. I knew that to immerse yourself into that countries culture you had to talk to the locals, try their national dish and just enjoy every bit of it- every piece of history, art and food they had to offer.

As a child I believed that money grew on trees. Mama and Dada had all the money in the world because it grew in a big wood behind our house. I would be able to travel around forever with them because they were my best friends. They loved travelling just as much as I did. When Mama passed away my dreams came to an end. My dreams of travelling and experiencing new things had died with her. I hoped that my curiosity and need for adventure would continue- traits I’d like to think I got from her.

Fast forward six years and I am doing a TEFL course. I have finally got that fire back in me. I want to be able to tell amazing stories to my grandchildren about where I went and who I met. I now know that travelling takes money- lots of money. It may take me a few years to go everywhere I want to go but I now know that every single sight and experience is worth its weight in gold.

So we’ll see where I end up. If I do TEFL who knows, I might be going around Asia for a year. How amazing would that be?

